Bio is in... Why?

Discussion in 'General' started by recon, Oct 9, 2008.

1. recon

recon SM Support Dev

About three or four months ago, it was frowned upon to research anything in the bio tree.

Over the past few months, I've noticed an surge in the number of commanders and players who research / use the bio tree.

Most people go into the bio tree for Regen, so I'll talk about that first.

As a commander, I research Regen because it's
    • Cheap
    • Light
    • Tough against DU
    • Fast to research
    • Good all around armor
    As a driver, I like Regen because it's
    • Light
    • Self Repairing
    • Tough against DU
    • Good all around armor
    Regen also has the highest health (75), which is 5 less than Composite health (80).

As a commander, I research Bio Diesel because it's
    • Close to Regen
    • Good for tanks that will encounter / use nukes
    As a driver, unless I am using a nuke, I can not stand Bio Diesel because it has the worst heat dissipation of any engine and it's slow.

Any other reasons you guys like / dislike bio?

Last edited: Oct 9, 2008
  2. communism

communism poof

Theres no reason not to research bio. It doesn't take its 2x damage from bio weapons and in my personal book the best armor in the game, a quick research that comes with a quick engine that is very valuable late game (if nukes get brought in)

I can research bio meds by the time the enemy even has touched the mech tree (assuming they are going physics which is the only real alternative)

3. recon

recon SM Support Dev

Yet another good reason. It's tough against bio since the armor regenerates as it gets damaged.

Electrical Engineering (Reactive / 3 Phase) was pretty much the standard until people started using bio more frequently.

4. Deiform

Deiform Member

I generally use bio tree if we need a quick regain of the map and need something cheap to spam out tanks. If we control the map I go for elec for the expensive awesomeness of reactive and/or level3s.