Research Interface

Discussion in 'Feedback' started by Icely, Jan 29, 2009.

1. Icely

Icely Member

I am somewhat new to Empires but I have had opportunity to command a few games. Being new I have not memorized the research tree yet and have had to use the current interface to find my way around it. Therefore I think I can therefore offer some feedback on the research interface.

From the couple of times I have commanded as well as several local games I started up to experiment with I believe the research tree has the following problems:
    • It is difficult to tell what the tree looks like further down
    • It is difficult to see where you are in the research tree
    • It is not alway easy to tell what equipment a research item unlocks

The first problem should be pretty clear. I think it is kind of an issue because there is no way to see how far down the desired equipment unlock is. For instance heavy tanks are 3 levels down while regen armour is only 1, yet there is no way to tell from the top.

The second problem is due to all the icon looking the same and being in the same place. Visually it is very disorienting to not have any markers.

The last problem is due to unfamiliarity with the game and the equipment that can be unlocked. Most of the time the text descriptions are adequate, although there are some that are less than crystal clear. Mostly I think this is due to the unlocks listed in the description do not exactly match the equipment items.

My suggestions for a more functional research tree interface would be to have the interface:
    • Let the commander view the entire tree
    • Use colours and icons to separate branches of the tree and research items
    • Show icons for the equipment that is unlocked by a research item