Making Empires a free standing game.

Discussion in 'General' started by Michael0100, Mar 27, 2016.

1. Michael0100

Michael0100 Member

At any rate would Empires become a game instead of a heavy mod for source. It's not that it's bad but other engines e.g:

Unreal Engine 4,
    Amazon Lumber Yard (Not sure about it.),
    Unity.

my friends, Myself and many others I'm sure would easily pay money for a proper game if it was to be upgraded in terms of graphics and mechanics. I was just wondering since I'm pretty new to this game if that would be a planned idea for the future or if it will just be a source mod.

2. Xyaminou

Xyaminou Member

Yeah, thanks, we hadn't thought about it...

Like everyone's been told, unless you want to gather a team and finance the project yourself, that's not going to happen... Ever...

3. Michael0100

Michael0100 Member

At the end off the day, is that not what things like Kickstarter is for?

4. McGyver

McGyver Experimental Pedagogue

Unfortunately the Emp community is a little bit too small to get some Kickstarter going. There already were several attempts to make Empires 2, but somehow they never get far...

5. Xyaminou

Xyaminou Member

Sure, if you want to finance the advertisement and head up the project... same problem...

6. Michael0100

Michael0100 Member

That is a shame, but if the website it's funded on might provide some promotion to it... But that's a hit and miss advertisement... And if I'm not wrong it's a fairly old mod? So the community wont grow that much, if not at all?

7. Sgt.Security

Sgt.Security Member

Of course we have a plan for this game, that's why dev team hasn't dismissed yet.
    I'll get our lead developer to reply to this.

8. Xyaminou

Xyaminou Member

Wait, you do?

9. Michael0100

Michael0100 Member

Holy hell.

Semi-rekt

10. complete_

complete_ lamer

the game is free and doesnt require anything already

11. Tama

Tama Developer Staff Member Web Developer