Looking at Dawn of War

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by cpugeek, Mar 6, 2008.

1. cpugeek

cpugeek Member

So, I know that a bunch of people here play these games, and I was thinking of maybe buying the platinum pack (includes all three games). I want to know what you think of the games in terms of replayability. I'm a college student, so I wouldn't be playing this game a lot online (don't have the time to train up to that level), i'd mostly play singleplayer and maybe lan (if i can get my roommates off their asses). I've played company of heroes, and i think its a good game and i heard that DoW is very similar. What attracts me to the game is the universe its set in, the low price, and the fact that it actually would run on my laptop. So what do you guys think about the games? Should i buy them, buy something else, or just save my money?

2. grayclay88

grayclay88 Banned

Buy it. If you like company of heroes, and you like the 40k universe, your going to like DoW. No question about it.

3. Private Sandbag

Private Sandbag Member

I think it's a great game, at least 40 non-grind hours in there

4. -Mayama-

-Mayama- MANLY MAN BITCH

Ive only played the game without the expansions but it was on of the most
    awesome rts ive every played.

5. KILLX

KILLX Banned

What sets it apart is the level of interaction. Its not your typical 1 unit one attack game. Any unit with a gun has both melee and ranged attacks. Some units have multiple melee attacks. Take the dreadnought, comes standard with a flame thrower, add a chaingun, it shoots shit. If shit gets close, it will do a variety of things, ranging from: hit them, grab them, hit them then grab them, hit them then grab them then spin them in circles with the claw, all of the above with the flame thrower going the whole time barbecuing the infantry grabbed, and topping it off by chucking them into a nearby lake.

6. Hendar23

Hendar23 Member