emp_tactial - advice needed.

Discussion in 'Mapping' started by Omega_K2, Aug 24, 2008.

1. Omega_K2

Omega_K2 Member

Well some guys probably have seen me on the servers recently... I am quite new to Empires, but I like it a lot.
    I thought of creating a map for empires and I want the advice of more experienced players before I start the map.
    Since there are many maps with a lot of nature I deceided to create an "artifical" map (at least with a big "artifical" part). I am not 100% sure whether I am going to create an urban map but it is probably going to be one.
    Also many maps seems to lack any special tactical postions which give an andvantage if owned (in this case I mean advantages like control of certain doors/building)

Basic Map layout:
    My idea for the map is that it is mainly symetric/mirror to ensure that neither nf nor be has an advantage. Both teams will have a big starting base (and I want that they keep the base) with different tactical postions/building.
    The teams will start with a Barracks, a fully built Radar, a fully built res point, a 25% built armory and a 25% built vehicle factory.

Teleporter & Powerplant:
    One idea is to give each team a teleporter unit and a power plant. The teleporter will allow fast access for infantry to catured tactical points (but not points in the enemy base or some very close to their base). Essential for the teleporter unit is that the power generator in the powerplant is unharmed; so one target for the enemy team is to destroy the enemy power generator (I am not sure, whether it should be possible to rebuild the power generator; maybe you will have to wait about 5-10min to rebuild it).
    If the power generator is destroyed also doors (they will fully open, granting access to the base for the enemy) or traps will not work anymore.