Anyone here have experience with migrating HD to SSD?

Discussion in 'General' started by Polyesta, Dec 23, 2016.

1. Polyesta

Polyesta Member

How hard or difficult is it to switch all your files over to SSD?
    Have windows start up off SSD?
    Are disc performance speeds actually that much faster compared to regular disk drive?

2. VulcanStorm

VulcanStorm Developer Staff Member Moderator

Sadly I have no experience migrating from HD to SSD.

Win10 does boot off an ssd. But then i got my laptop with win10 installed on the ssd... But it should work like any regular hard disk...

But i can say that SSD is massively faster than HD. SSDs use less power (good for laptops). As for loading times... Yes, SSDs are faster, much faster read and write than a HD. But by how much depends on the exact HD you're using.

Polyesta likes this.
  3. JustGoFly

JustGoFly Member

Assuming you are running Windows: I installed an SSD, it goes in as a new hard drive. Then you just install your steam games to that new drive instead of C:
    The performance improvement should be during map load time, but I haven't noticed any major improvement. It can't be sure but Empires seems to download every map, every game. If that's the case, then that would account for the no-improvement.

I set mine up as Z: so it never moves. I hate when you setup a drive as D: and then plug in a thumb drive and you have to remap all the drives again.

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2404258,00.asp

4. Polyesta

Polyesta Member