Vehicle and Building Skins?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Bort, Apr 5, 2011.

1. Bort

Bort Member

Hello,

I am new to the game but not new to modeling or making skins. I am a member of the DG community. We have an Empires server and would like to make custom skins for the NF vehicles and buildings. Where do I get the default skins so I have a base to work off of? I've searched both these forums and the wiki's pertaining to EmpiresMOD which is great information but doesn't tell me where the default skins are located or how to get them. They're not located where skins are located in other source games and mods in my empires directory. If they are in there I've been unable to find them although I *think* I've looked in every directory within empires root for the Steam installation.

So where do I get the default skins to use as a base template? If there are actually .psd templates somewhere that would be awesome and save me quite a bit of reverse engineering to make them correctly.

If templates don't exist I would be glad to contribute to the community by figuring out the skin syntax and providing .psd templates along with a tutorial to help others be able to customize their skins.
    ...but I'd still need access to the default skins to do that. So..

Where dey at?!

Thanks in advance...

|DG| Bort
    http://www.disturbed-gamers.com

Last edited: Apr 5, 2011
  2. complete_

complete_ lamer

3. Bort

Bort Member

Thanks! That's the info I needed. Anyone know which .gcf has the vehicle and buildings packed in to it? I'll find it...

Thanks a lot!
    Look for a tutorial and template .psd in the next few weeks. Cheers!

4. Bort

Bort Member

Yeah, Oyv47. That's why I just ignored his comment. Every community has it's douchebags.

Next question I'd be grateful to have the answer to:
    Where do I put the skins once they're edited, for the steam installation?