Useful things on Steam and the Source engine.

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by Spooky, Dec 12, 2008.

1. Spooky

Spooky Member

For the past 10 months of using steam, I learned over the summer that if you know what to do, you can change most of your steam files to do certain things.

If your a complete noob at this, before you do ANYTHING make a backup of the file. or just don't even do it.

1. Having an In-Game Browser

The following is a way to use an internet browser from within a steam game.
    Open up your Steam/Public folder.
    Open url_list.txt
    Replace %community%/profiles/%steamID%/home with www.google.com
    This will set your steam community homepage to Google.
    From there you can search any website in the search box and go there.

-I had to do this two-three times for it to finally stay permanently, make a backup of the file before you edit.
    -If you want to actually use steam community, just search "Steam Community".
    -While in game, the typing is a bit buggy. you cannot see the LAST letter you typed.
    -I don't think logging into forums works IN GAME. im typing this on my steam browser right now.
    -Please note that the code block you want to change is the 3rd one from the top, which looks like this:

}
    SteamIDControlPage
    {
    url "%community%/profiles/%steamID%/home"
    method "community"

Replace %community%/profiles/%steamID%/home
    with a website of your choice, but before you do this you might want to keep a copy and pasted text file of the url_list just in case you mess up, or something goes wrong.

2. Scripting.

-Scripting can be extremely useful in some games, and not useful at all in other's.
    -Overwriting something very useful like:+forward,+right,+strafe,+attack,slot1 ect. so that admin's can't run it on you, is just extremely stupid. if you have done this, I could care less, don't ask for help on how to fix it.
    -note that doing
    Alias MiniLS MiniLS