Reinforcement System

Discussion in 'Feedback' started by Vader6, Dec 6, 2007.

1. Vader6

Vader6 Member

With 2.0 out we get to see Empires in a way we've never gotten to before, with full servers, and people. Now, during the 1.08 testing there would be instances where both teams on normal "commander vs commander" maps would pull each other down to no reinforcements and sit around for what seems like forever. I think that fun is a very important factor of the game, heck, ANY game.

When I started playing 2.0 the thing that worried me was the lack of an increased point count. And as a direct result, the games became shorter and the often boring and uneventful standoffs would occur, and the server population would plummet (in one case from a full 40 person server to 12 people.)

Basically, such standoffs are not exactly fun. I'll admit that such high risk standoffs or "epic last stands" can in fact be quite fun, but in my experience they just tend to go nowhere until somebody ninjas the comm (I'm looking at you, Bob the Builder.)

What I would like to see to make games go more smoothly is to avoid these situations, but still make such epic last stands possible. So here's some various ideas of mine on how to make the gameplay flow better.

1: Tie the respawn tickets to number of players on the "active" teams
    How this would work would differ from map to map, but canyon with 40 people would obviously have more tickets than canyon with 20.

2: Provide ways to get more respawn tickets.
    This would basically turn respawn tickets into a contestable resource, perhaps connecting the income of tickets to holding more territory (discouraging turtling) So in practice, tickets at the start of the game would start out low, but while getting refineries would provide the commander with the resources to get vehicles and buildings, perhaps building barracks or some other method would provide the commander with more available infantry.