Realistic Vehicle Weight

Discussion in 'Feedback' started by Ranger, Oct 19, 2014.

1. Ranger

Ranger Member

Hello. I am *Dead*๖ۣۜRanger

This is my first post ever on the Empires Mod Forum. I have actually just finished the registration, even though I've been playing for 2 or 3 years. I have been upgrading and improving Empires in my mind or doing small projects like designing new vehicles for the fun of it, but now I think it's time I start writing down my thoughts.

I've never understood why tanks weigh so little. For balancing reasons? Then Why not make it with slots instead of messing with weight? Because it's simpler? Ok.

I'm here to suggest to increase it to increase realism and avoid dirty tricks like pushing a CV into the water with a tiny jeep.

A tank can carry as many weapons as you want, in real life, as long as you have space for them... In Empires I presume you don't want that for balancing reasons, even though it would be sexy to have a fully armored tank. Main idea is to increase all other weights too. For example, a cannon can doesn't weigh only 2 or 3 tons. It come along with dozens of shells...

I hope you see what I mean.

I also think, from my experience from Garry's Mod that it will affect speed. Not sure how. Increasing engine's weight used to make the engine more powerful and considering empires is in source, I wonder if that would make tanks faster or slower... o.0

Last edited: Oct 19, 2014
  2. ImSpartacus

ImSpartacus nerf spec plz

That's a work in progress, but it's interesting to hear someone request that tanks should weigh more.

The heavier the vehicle, the harder it is to make it stable if it's moving fast.

Heavy tanks particular move really fucking quickly but should intuitively weigh a ton. You can make them weigh a ton, but then they slide around a ton. It would be easier if we could significantly slow heavies down. It's a similar situation with mediums and the CV, but to a lesser degree.

Maybe we'll get there someday.