My two cents on weapons.

Discussion in 'Feedback' started by Rynthas, Sep 27, 2008.

1. Rynthas

Rynthas Member

I'll admit that I'm fairly new to Empires, but after a few days of pretty frequent playing I've got to say I've developed some opinions that I feel are solidly based.

A lot of the weapons in Empires just don't make much sense, and IMO need some real tweaking. Most notably are...well, pretty much everything the Grenadier class carries. Since it seems the most flawed, I'll start with it.

The Mortar -
    It hardly acts as a mortar should. Empires does a pretty good job of having some wide open spaces on most maps, so why is the mortar so incredibly short-ranged? So far I've been killed a handfull of times by mortars, and almost all of them were within 10 meters of the guy using it. At longer ranges, the mortar just isn't a serious threat to infantry or vehicles unless the target is off having a combat jack. The splash radius is pathetic for any sort of indirect fire weapon, as is the total damage it does. Mortars aren't precision weapons, they aren't meant to hit a target in the face. The entire idea is that you lob a large explosive round near the target, and the explosion takes out everything in the area.

Now, maybe some of you see balance problems with large splash radius and high damage. I agree, and the obvious counter to this is by treating the mortar as (once again) it's real-life counterpart: Require that the user be crouched, and require that it takes a couple seconds to deploy and undeploy it. If you manage to catch a grenadier using his mortar and you're reasonably close to him, he shouldn't stand a chance.

The Pistol -
    Pistols are not long-range weapons. The fact that the pistol can effectively outrange a mortar is ludicrous, but that's precisely the case in this mod. Pistols should be a lot less accurate at long range.

The RPG -