Making a construction site map (emp_industrial)

Discussion in 'Mapping' started by BitterJesus, Sep 2, 2009.

1. BitterJesus

BitterJesus Member

I'm VERY new at mapping, and I've always found it that all of the maps are missing something. The action so to speak. They are either too spread out, or too cluster-fucky. I want to make district, without the stalemates.

It's going to be set in a construction site, which I think is a very easy thing to make as everything will be blocky.

So far, I only have spawn points created, they are very very very basic.

Brenodi is suppose to have an air assault, and NF are supposedly building shit when suddenly the construction site becomes a battlefield (gasp).

There will be a flag in each corner on the map as well as the middle flag.

I want to make the map so that there won't be that 1 area that you just HAVE to go through or you won't be able to pass the map, but not make it to the point where you can't possibly defend all possible way points.

No screenshots yet. I'm taking architecture ideas. Give me some challenging ideas so I can get some practice.

Chances are, I won't even go far with this map, but more like a training map for me.

DO NOT EXPECT IT TO LOOK GOOD. I'M GOING PURELY FOR GAMEPLAY AND HIGH FPS.

2. flasche

flasche Member Staff Member Moderator

- care for acessibility (2+ routes per faction to each "chokepoint")
    - provide "one way routes" (you can jump down but not up)
    - let players flank and or get into their enemies back (best with "one way routes")
    - make the map "multidimensional" (accessible upper floors, bridges, ...)
    - provide lots of cover if its going to be an infantry based map (even if there are tanks)

use images.google.com for inspiration ^^

Last edited: Sep 2, 2009
  3. Aurora

Aurora Radiating love, empathy and maternal instincts

Add like tons of unbuilt things which you can build.

4. OuNin

OuNin Member

I like the concept.

5. BitterJesus

BitterJesus Member