Compiling Help

Discussion in 'Mapping' started by Destroyer224, Sep 4, 2006.

1. Destroyer224

Destroyer224 Member

Ok, I did a search and found nothing that would explain my problem so here goes...

I am a COMPLETE noob at mapping. I was unable to find a reliable map resource until, thanks to Supaste's guide posted here in this forum, came along. I used Supaste's mapping guide to make my own little map right until the skybox part, (at the time of this posting, the guide isn't finnished and that's where it ends) and decided to just use the block tool to make 4 walls and a ceiling to seal off my map so that it isn't one big leak and 'should' compile.

Now when I click 'run map' in the menu it gives me an error saying:

** Executing...
    ** Command: Copy File
    ** Parameters: "C:\Program Files\Valve\Steam\SteamApps\SourceMods\Empires\maps\emp_test_map_1.bsp" "\emp_test_map_1.bsp"
    The command failed. Windows reported the error:
    "The system cannot find the file specified."

Can someone help me, 'the helpless nub' that I sigh at so much at during a game when they ask, "Where can I get ammos?"

[The Irony, It Burns!!!]

Last edited: Sep 4, 2006
  2. Krenzo

Krenzo Administrator

It can't find the file because there was an error that prevented the compiler from finishing and creating the actual .bsp file. You need to look further up the log to see the real problem.

3. Destroyer224

Destroyer224 Member

Yeah...

That's pretty much the whole log it gives me after the error. Unless I missed a button or something... Even though I looked around, (although it's a distinct possibility) it might be another log you're talking about. But if so... I have no idea where it is or how to find it.

4. Wereaser

Wereaser Member