Commander guides etc..

Discussion in 'General' started by vito, Apr 2, 2009.

1. vito

vito Member

Well I play on the G4TC server and what I see the most is, BE getting dumbass commanders. I would like to be a commander, but I am not very good at it. Does anyone know any good guides on it? Or maybe a experienced BE commander helping me in a pass worded server?

Steam name: Vito11 or post here please

2. Emp_Recruit

Emp_Recruit Member

Play.

There is no real way around it. You have to know what is and isn't viable in terms of research and as well what to expect to from infantry. There is no reading a guide on how to do a zerg rush or anything like that empires varies far to much from game to game. Watch and learn what good commanders do and emulate it.

3. Bass

Bass Member

Go to an empty server and get used to the controls. Speed is everything to infantry.

Check the research tree pictures at the Empires Wiki and memorize the timings.

4. vito

vito Member

Ok i tried commanding again theres one problem. When ever I exit the command menu I can't open it. F2 doesn't work, and I even exited/rentered several times. Is there a way to bind a key?

5. flasche

flasche Member Staff Member Moderator

yes, check the key bindings ...

6. PwnedYoAss

PwnedYoAss Member

Well to learn how to command you have to learn how to play the game first, simply put you must understand what kills what, and what works well. Then, only then are you ready for commanding. As for controls, head to an empty server and mess around.

7. McGyver

McGyver Experimental Pedagogue

Quick guide to commanding:
    1. press f2
    2. place forward barracks
    3. place refinaries
    4. build a radar at main base
    5. build a vehicle factory at main base
    6. research for BE: reflective armor, fission engine, HE shells, medium tanks, heavies
    7. research for NF: reactive armor, 3-phase engine, guided missiles, heavies
    8. build another vehicle factory, some armories and turrets