Bots?

Discussion in 'General' started by Snoopie22, Aug 1, 2007.

1. Snoopie22

Snoopie22 Member

Im new to Empires, when I found out about it just now I went crazy because this has to be the best mod ever. Anyways...

Is there bots? if not, are there going to be AI units put into the mod for lets say LAN play or something because that would be a really cool feature.

2. L3TUC3

L3TUC3 Member

There are some bots, but all they do is wander around and get stuck. Bot support is a looong ways off.

You could always try human opponents though.

3. Chahk

Chahk Member

Some human opponents act the same way though :p

4. Silk

Silk Mapper

Remember pong? Give that bouncing square a weapon and you have an empires bot.

But the fact that there ARE bots is promising. Just don't start counting down untill it is released.

5. Krenzo

Krenzo Administrator

Spawn bot in barracks -> watch bot run around bumping into the walls -> watch as bot somehow makes it out 20% of the time.

6. Exile

Exile Member

um not sure if this helps but im a fan of mods in general and i also have the isotx mod IronGrip which is a rts/ffs hybrid like empire but based around a resistance composed of human players vs on human caommanding a stander rts side.
    isotx is a source mod like empires they have a resonable if dumb bot ai for there grunts would it be possible to contact them and ask to use there bot code and ai?
    i would think that having the bots tagged to a sqaud leader say 2-4 class dependet on the leader eg rilfeman leader= 3 rilfeman bots + one healer engie bot.
    i do not think isotx would allow a simply code transplant if they gave permission you would probably have to adapt it so it would not infringe upon ther mod idea.

its just a thought

7. Krenzo

Krenzo Administrator

They're just using HL2's AI from what I've seen. When I get around to adding bots, I want to do them justice and not have dumb bots.

8. Snoopie22

Snoopie22 Member