The Future of Empires

Discussion in 'General' started by Urknall, Oct 23, 2014.

1. Urknall

Urknall Member

To get a feeling, which way/direction Empires will go, I'd like to ask a general question: What are your plans, maybe for the next 1 or 2 years? This could be important for further contributions...

2. ImSpartacus

ImSpartacus nerf spec plz

1) Keep Candles sane until he can port to Source 2.

2) ????

3) PROFIT!

Seriously though, I don't know of any time related plans. There are features in the pipeline if that's what you mean.

3. D.D.D. Destroyer

D.D.D. Destroyer Member Staff Member Moderator

GUI rework is the next big thing afaik.

4. Herbie

Herbie Junior Member

I'm not an expert, but I don't think there are any time related plans because the teams resources are so indeterminate (spare time). Even game developers who have a more predictable set of resources (people, hours worked) always mess up.

I think there may be a few general plans for the future, like:

Continue to improve the quality of the games assets.

Porting the GUI into HTML, which is more flexible and easier to work with , so that the GUI's design and functionality can be improved.

Several additional features which would aid communication between players and make the interface and gameplay more fluid.

5. Trickster

Trickster Retired Developer

I think we're doing the best we can right now until Source 2 shows up. Once that does, I guess we sit down and discuss where we want to go from there. Despite being on Source "2013", realistically this game engine is over 10 years old now, so we are limited as to how much further we can really take things. Source 2 should be the gamechanger. If it isn't, then we'll need to re-assess our expectations as to future development.

6. BigTeef

BigTeef Bootleg Headshot master

Right now people are fixing whats there and hoping for the future brings.