Queries about map sizes

Discussion in 'Mapping' started by Crispy, Jan 12, 2009.

1. Crispy

Crispy Member

Hi, I'm new to mapping for Empires being more used to FPS games like TF2 and for more close-quarters RTS/FPS stuff like Natural Selection.

I'm mainly worried about optimisation, Empires being so big in scale and so wide open with few vis blockers.

Height:
    Can anyone recommend a good height for my map as I'm building it. I want the Comm to be able to see at least the starting base area without having to pan around, but I don't want there to be unneccessary space at the top of the map if I can help it.

Size:
    Right now I have laid down 5x5 4096 floor 'tiles' which roughly correspond to areas of the map. I am aiming for something around the size of emp_cyclopean, does that sound like I am around the right size?

Vis blockers and optimisation techniques:
    How important is it to place mountains and buildings in Empires to optimise? I notice a lot of maps in Empires work fine with mostly flat terrain. Does fogging handle the bulk of forcing unneeded brushwork to remain undrawn, or do you need to pay special attention to visblocking (as you do with more detailed environments)?

Also, do most mappers tend to avoid using large brushes that cover the whole map. Is is ok to have the skybox as one massive brush or do you need to break it up into sections (what I call tiles). For the floor is it fine to have a massive ground brush and build displacements with visblockers on top of that, or is my 'tile' approach going to work better?

Thanks in advance for any tips you can give.

2. -Mayama-

-Mayama- MANLY MAN BITCH

...filler

3. BumGravy

BumGravy Member