New mapper? Needs assistance

Discussion in 'Mapping' started by Phantom, Jun 25, 2010.

1. Phantom

Phantom Member

To keep this short:

I am fairly new to mapping (never done it for empires anyway), but am somewhat familiar with hammer and am very familiar with a few 3D modeling tools that are similar enough in layout. The mapping itself has been fairly straightforward. However, after completing a very BASIC closed room (floor ceiling, 4 walls with no leaks), 1 nf and 1 be spawn entity and 4 light sources, it compiles, but generates an error when attempting to run in empires.

My question is are there certain criteria that must first be met before empires will accept or be able to run a map? (Such as dimensions? entities?...anything?).

I appreciate any assistance, let me know if you need any other information.

2. flasche

flasche Member Staff Member Moderator

3. blizzerd

blizzerd Member

what flashe said, those entities are needed

4. Phantom

Phantom Member

Thanks for the help, that issue has been resolved! Also, I had already visited the wiki, but failed to notice the documentation bar on the top of the page, so didn't get the other info I needed. I'll set to making some larger maps and then attempt to figure out the assigning spawn points issues (fun fun...).

Again, thanks for the assistance flasche and blizz!

5. ScardyBob

ScardyBob Member

6. LordDz

LordDz Capitan Rainbow Flowers

Screw mapping! We need modellers ;)

7. ViroMan

ViroMan Black Hole (*sniff*) Bully

Model me some damn planes!!

8. Phantom

Phantom Member

I considered modelling, but I'm only proficient in Solid Works and I highly doubt that engineering models will port over to source...