Need a microphone

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by Lazybum, May 15, 2016.

?

How much are you willing to spend on a mic?

1. Under 20$, it's just a mic

38.5%
  2. Around 50$, I don't want to sound like a robot

23.1%
  3. 100$, I use it for more things then just to yell at people

23.1%
  4. 150$ or more, I like the best stuff I can get

7.7%
  5. I am mute and have no need for a mic

15.4%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Lazybum

Lazybum :D Staff Member Moderator

The little usb mic I had for the last 6 months suddenly stopped working for no discernible reason, how sad. So my question to you is what mic should I get? Normally I would just grab something cheap, but I've been thinking of getting a much higher quality one for reasons. I have no real knowledge on mics in general, I've looked at buying guides for a rough idea but most seem to be aimed at musicians and the only instrument I have is electric guitar, though I keep thinking of acoustic ones for awhile now...

So yeah, what's a decent mic? I have decent headphones already so I really don't want a headset before someone suggests those things. I really would like to keep it under 50$, but I'll grab something around 100$ if it's actually good and worth it.

2. complete_

complete_ lamer

most "gaming" headsets will break on you

and i dont think anyone has ever used a sm57 for playing games.

your better off buying one of the least expensive gaming mics with good enough reviews or a cheap clip-on mic/desktop mic

3. Lazybum

Yeah, but I've been wanting to do some dnd sessions as a dm so basically I'm playing the story teller. I wanted something decent because I had to hear myself from zoom's recordings and the mic I got, which was like 18 dollars or something, sounded like ass. I'm pretty sure it was through teamspeak too, so it shouldn't have suffered much from compression. I mean if you had to hear someone talk for a couple of hours I would think you'd like them to not sound like ass.