Job Predictament

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by alucard13mmfmj, Nov 4, 2012.

1. alucard13mmfmj

alucard13mmfmj Member

So I am in a pickle.

I graduated from university 1+ year ago with a bachelors degree in human biology. Now I can't really find any work.

I am overqualified for low wage jobs AND I don't have previous experience doing low wage jobs.

I dont have enough experience for jobs that relate to my degree.

I am trapped in a situation where I need experience to get a job, but I need a job to get experience. Quite the vicious cycle if you asked me. It is depressing and I've been feeling terrible for the last 1-2 months. Thoughts of worthlessness and even thoughts of suicide.

I graduated with a degree in a field that I ended up not being too fond of. My GPA is 2.99 (let's just say 3.0 lolss) and I didn't really do much during my time in school. I had some volunteer time in 2 labs for a collective 6months of experience, but lab related jobs require 3-5 years on most of them.

My accomplishments is not that bad and somewhat well rounded

-Volunteered at Humane Society (pet shelter) for half a year in 2007
    -Got rank of Staff Sargent in the US Army Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps (JROTC) in high school in 2004
    -Platoon leader of 2 squads (13-15 students) during JROTC 2004
    -3.5 GPA ribbon for my high school grade awarded by JROTC in 2005
    -Perfect Attendance ribbon awarded by JROTC in 2005
    -Honorable Mention in California State Fair for Digital Arts contest 2004
    -Honorable Mention in California State Fair for Digital Arts contest 2005
    -Honorable Mention in Pomona Library logo contest in 2005
    -Member of Mount San Antonio chemistry club
    -Member of UC San Diego Anime club.
    -Volunteered in a lab involving cephlapods (squids) and nerve cells for 3 months in 2010
    -Volunteered in lab involving antibiotics and soil for 5 months in 2011.