empires server installation start to finish

Discussion in 'Support' started by Ghost, Oct 17, 2008.

1. Ghost

Ghost Member

UPDATED FOR 2.23!!!!

I have tried to explain this as easy as I can and I even included things I use on my own server. This is for windows install only.

Ok, I am still kind of new to the empires server but with my exp with my css servers here is what I came up with for creating a empires server.

Step 1. Install is basic with hlds update tool, double click on the program and follow the instructions.

Step 2. Next you need to open cmd by clicking start then run the typing cmd and hitting return. Once your cmd is open you need to direct your self to where you begin your server install with the last step. Type cd C:\game\your server
    Example: cd c:\game\empiresserver ---This example is directly from my server your will differ.

Step 3. once directed t your server location enter this command to start the long download of server files.

hldsupdatetool.exe -command update -game "orangebox" -dir .

Step 4. Now you can drag the empires folder with all the empires server stuff into the server folder
    example : C:\game\empiresserer is my location where the empires folder gets dropped to.

Step 5. Creating a server.cfg file is simple. open the empires folder and open cfg folder, create a notepad and name it server.cfg and allow it to change file type. Now you can edit the cfg and tell the server what you want it to do.

http://www.wiki.empiresmod.com/index.php?title=Server_Cvars

that link has a lot of information for it.

// server name
    hostname "name"

// rcon password
    //be sure to change your rcon password
    rcon_password "pass"

// server cvars
    mp_footsteps 1
    mp_autoteambalance 1
    mp_flashlight 1
    mp_forcecamera 0
    sv_alltalk 0
    sv_pausable 0
    sv_cheats 0
    sv_consistency 1
    sv_allowupload 1
    sv_allowdownload 1
    sv_maxspeed 320
    sv_voiceenable 1
    mp_allowspectators 1
    mp_timelimit 0