Development Process Question

Discussion in 'Feedback' started by Grave, Apr 6, 2019.

1. Grave

Grave Member

Hey guys. I've been in and out of this game for the last decade and a half. I'm not someone who would have been remembered by all, but I have been here nonetheless. I'm hoping this does not come across as pointed but this is a game I've always loved coming back to over the years and I am dismayed at the current state of the game and community, so let us get straight into it.

What exactly is the design goal, design aesthetic, and development process that is being used to create this game?

I'm not trying to throw shade, as I have no game development experience, but I do have experience professionally as a software developer in big boring systems involving processing, storing, and visualizing data for large government entities and the development and life-cycle processes needed to sustain these efforts. These are efforts that require us to solicit requirements from the client, which can be a function of what they want, what tangible benefit is provided to them, the purpose of the software, etc. I get the impression that game development may not be completely unrelated. Obviously the differences are there, especially where games don't have a requirements-solicitation phase where you sit with the client in some boring, esoteric meeting and try to glean what they want and sell them to a product through the form of a contract, but at the end of the day, in both we have a product that is used by and serves the client's end.