Mapping Links and Resource thread

Discussion in 'Mapping' started by Kylegar, Aug 20, 2008.

1. Kylegar

Kylegar Specstax Rule

This thread is a list of links for Mapping tutorials, Resources, etc. The original post is old, but Tama has edited it March 14th 2016 to fix links and add resources.

Tutorial Links:
    Mapping Resources:
    If you have a tutorial or resource for this thread, make a post, and I will add it to this post. Any other posts will be deleted.

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 14, 2016
  2. Kylegar

Kylegar Specstax Rule

Updated

3. bitchslap

bitchslap Member

got a new guide for setting up mapping for OB yet ? i know there were a few threads/posts about it.....

4. blizzerd

blizzerd Member

5. Varbles

Varbles Simply Maptastic. Staff Member

updated

6. Silk

Silk Mapper

I'm looking for some sort of online handbook that helps me get the colors of textures and lighting right. I've been applying trial and error for 6 years now, and i'm getting worse at it every year. I want to actually understand something about lighting/colors.

Not just the basic stuff like red is warm and blue is cold. I want detailed explanations of why lighting should be done in a certain way and preferrably i also want information on using normal maps and selfshadowing bumpmaps correctly to create realistic looking environments.

If anyone has good links to any of this ... it would be much appreciated.

7. Metal Smith

Metal Smith Member

Valve has one of the best parralax / normal mapping info page i've found.

https://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Normal_Map_Creation#Creation

First step is to describe your map, in words, before you even draw it out. It's hard to say what you want your map to feel like unless you've already written out what you want it to feel like.

Second, design the environment around the feel you desire. Have you heard of warm colors and such?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Color_temperature