Empires Wont Start -1.071

Discussion in 'Support' started by Trid3nt, Jan 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lithium

Lithium Member

I use an ATI radeon X800

2. HaschteWas

HaschteWas Member

I dont think that my problem results from having bad graphicdrivers (using nvidia card...). But i think that somthing made the mod incompatible with the new steamversion.
    My client is kicked on my own dedicated LAN-server, too. Although it was set to "LAN only" (no masterserverconnection and no vac = insecure)!

3. GI-Jane

GI-Jane Member

Ive been getting same errors Exactly for ages now and have even sent Steam a query which they fail to reply to.
    It is weird how this only affects 3rd party mods?
    And If I was a mod Dev Id be moaning to steam cos I wonder how many people download Empires and find it doesnt work jus to delete it...
    Weird how some can connect tho?

IVE tried every possible combination of fixes Delete Blob, reinstall, upgrade drivers, run spyware removers and run all the steam diagnostics and yet no joy , guess Ill jus have to start playing Dow, just got Dark crusade, cool.....

PS: are the people able to connect Americans an those who Cant European, mebbe someone forgot to switch the european VAC server on??

PPS: Now Im really confused I couldnt play Battleground or Dystopia yesterday but today I can yet Empires still wont work yet I can play Gmod 9 and Hl2 deathmatch FFS whats going on??????

Last edited: Feb 2, 2007
  4. Broccoli

Broccoli Member

Is it a badly set up firewall? I know that I have to disable peerguardian on my system in order for steam to behave properly.

5. Trid3nt

Trid3nt Member

well my problem was solved by a system restore.

6. Niarbeht

Niarbeht Member

Broccoli:
    Turn off the showing of allowed connections, then enable PG2. Start steam. Note all the Level 3 Communications / Valve Corporation crap popping up.