Empire's Weapon Scripting System

Discussion in 'Support' started by Comand'zorz' Asz, Feb 21, 2011.

1. Comand'zorz' Asz

Comand'zorz' Asz Member

I was wondering about Empires weapon scripting system. Is it an old home-brew just for Empires or is it a sourcemod community asset originally developed for S-mod...or part of counterstrike, lol?

I'm just asking because I'd like to port the whole thing to garry's mod instead of approximating all the weapons with the standard Garry's mod LUA scripts. (I'm hoping to produce a few lame gm-based machinima's to promo empires/further train noobs.

If I dick around with source sdk a bit, find the assets, I may figure it out myself, better than all the time I spend in the CV...

2. Trickster

Trickster Retired Developer

I think they're made for Empires itself, as I've seen the excerpt from which they're parsed in the code, and it seems to be referencing to Empires stuff. But, I'm not a coder, so I wouldn't know. Although, I doubt you'll find much dicking about with source SDK when you don't actually have the source code.

3. Comand'zorz' Asz

Comand'zorz' Asz Member

Just meant in terms of understanding valve's file structure...
    Basically I wanted to know (in terms of my goals) if I should study the Empires scripts/write a way to parse them or if I could just download something.
    Sounds like a waste of time but I play a lot of Empires and it's getting boring. Same 7 maps on Viper.. l

4. Empty

Empty Member

I've already made most of the weapons in gmod, the way I prefer them.
    The empires scripting system is terrible, it's unintuitive and hacky, if mootant would let me (and the scripters forgave me for ruining their work) I'd redo it from scratch, but that's a pipedream.

5. 0yv47

0yv47 Member

pipes (in most cases) lead to something you know......

6. LordDz

LordDz Capitan Rainbow Flowers

aka Pipedream = Better mod?

7. [KM] The Corpse

[KM] The Corpse Member